Hey everyone, I’m trying to wrap my head around the interaction between Archdruid and Adaptive Amalgam when playing against a Death Knight Tourist. The text on Adaptive Amalgam mentions “shuffle THIS into your deck,” so I’m confused about why I’m seeing multiple copies of the card getting shuffled back in when Summoner Darkmarrow is on the board. My understanding is that when you trigger the Amalgam’s Deathrattle, it should only shuffle itself in once. Shouldn’t it work like Brann Bronzebeard with the Youthful Brewmaster, where the first trigger pulls the card back, and then there’s nothing left for the second trigger? I feel like the current mechanism might be a bug rather than intended behavior.
3 Answers
I shared a video that explores Undatakah executing similar mechanics, which can clarify this confusion further. Check it out for some visual examples!
Just to clarify, the stacking is part of how these Deathrattles work, but you’re right that it raises some questions about the wording. With Undatakah, for instance, it functions differently because of the way their Deathrattle is stated. It could look like a bug if you expect it to behave consistently across cards.
Exactly! The key difference is the phrasing and what it implies about the card being shuffled in. Undatakah references copies, while Amalgam doesn’t—it’s confusing!
Yeah, I think the key is that the Deathrattles stack. Each time one triggers, it adds another instance of ‘shuffle this’ to the effect, so that’s why you’re seeing multiples go back in. It’s kinda wild!
But shouldn’t the rules mean that if it states ‘shuffle THIS,’ the same card can’t be shuffled in more than once? I feel like if it was meant to say ‘a copy of this,’ then it would make more sense.
That actually illustrates your point perfectly! The difference in card text really changes how interactions happen, something to keep in mind when you’re building decks.